Mark Ruffalo, Josh Hamilton and Missy Yager to Reunite for This Is Our Youth Benefit Reading

A benefit reading of Kenneth Lonergan’s trailblazing drama This Is Our Youth, featuring original cast members Mark Ruffalo, Josh Hamilton and Missy Yager, will be presented June 10 at the Irene Diamond Stage at The Pershing Square Signature Center.

Helmed by the play’s original director, Mark Brokaw, the reading of This Is Our Youth will benefit New York City’s PS3 Charrette Elementary School. In addition, guest actors will join the cast to read short plays written by PS3 students under the guidance of artist-in-residence Adam Crescenzi.

The benefit reading is being organized by PS3 parents involved in the New York theater community: Oliver Dow (The New Group/Atlantic), Daniel and Addie Talbott (Rattlestick/Rising Phoenix Rep), Nick Gottlieb (The Gym at Judson), Erika Mallin (Signature Theatre). Ruffalo and Lonergan are also PS3 parents.

Originally produced by The New Group, This Is Our Youth opened at the INTAR Theatre in October 1996. The play later opened at the McGinn-Cazale Theatre in November 1998. Ruffalo received the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Actor for his performance as Warren, and Brokaw was awarded the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Director.